Pandora, Peter Pan, & the Pied Piper

According to Greek mythology, Pandora was the first woman on earth. She was not created as a blessing to man, however, but as a curse. She was beautiful, talented, and charming. At her wedding, Zeus presented her with an exquisite box, with the strict warning that under no circumstances was she ever to open it. She and her husband were very happy, but she was constantly tormented with curiosity about what was in that box. She had promised never to open it, but her curiosity grew and grew. One day, when she was alone, she decided it couldn’t hurt to just peek inside the box. Who would ever know?

So she very carefully raised the lid just enough to peer in — WHAM!!! The lid burst open and a swarm of hideous creatures flew out, and every evil and vileness was unleashed upon the world. She slammed the lid shut, but it was too late. The damage was done. Then a plaintive voice cried out from within the box, whining and begging to be let out. Pandora knew she shouldn’t open it again but, in her womanly weakness, she took pity on the pathetic creature, figuring what difference would it make to let out one more after all the others had already escaped? — especially since it sounded so harmless… So she lifted the lid and let it out. Little did she know, this was the most insidious evil of all — Hope.

Hope is cheap. Hope is easy to conjure up, because people want to believe in it. Hope makes people feel good when things are going from bad to worse. Hope is the tool used by confidence men to dupe people out of their savings, and by false prophets to manipulate the gullible. Even when wielded with the best of intentions, hope is a poor substitute for competence, experience, and a firm grasp of reality. When your boss asks if you can meet an important deadline, does he want to hear you say you hope so? When you take your car in to a mechanic, and ask if he can fix it, do you want to hear him say he hopes so?

Hope is merely wishful thinking. I want more than that from the leader of our nation and the Commander in Chief of the world’s most powerful military. We’re facing threats from terrorist nations who are developing nuclear weapons technology, our borders are eroding, our social security system is going bankrupt, and our national debt is approaching 14 digits. Is hope going to cure that?

Hope is nice. Hope is sweet. But hope is not enough to run a country on. Obama is Peter Pan and the Pied Piper all rolled into one. What America needs a tough leader with a track record, judgment, fortitude, and a keen understanding of economics. We don’t need catchy slogans about hoping for change we can believe in. We need a leader who can deal with reality.


Bookmark/Rate this post: Digg it Stumble It! add to del.icio.us
Published in: on February 20, 2008 at 11:03 pm  Comments (17)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://notyourdaddy.wordpress.com/2008/02/20/pandora-peter-pan-and-the-pied-piper/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Tim Ramsey

  2. **I want more than that from the leader of our nation and the Commander in Chief of the world’s most powerful military. We’re facing threats from terrorist nations who are developing nuclear weapons technology, our borders are eroding, our social security system is going bankrupt, and our national debt is approaching 14 digits. Is hope going to cure that?**

    NO. But neither is Mccain or Billary.

    Could be that his website has some answers to your questions. Like all of their websites, it’s a lot of eyecandy, but buried a layer deep are his goals, which, like any presidential candidate is long on promises and real short on the eventuality of actually getting any of it done…..

    I dunno…..Well, I DO know that it cannot get much worse than it has under the current “conservative” retarded loser we have in the White House. At least Obama can say the word “nuclear.”

    He was also editor of the Harvard Law Review…..which means he is probably smarter and intellectually tougher than me or you, or anyone either of us knows for that matter.

    I think this counts more than you might believe.

    And I’ll bet he won’t fill his cabinet with asshats and idiots like Rummy or Wolfowitz, or Ashcroft or that fucking Rove, not ONE of which did this country a damned bit of good, and in some ways are directly responsible for the clusterfuck we are in now.

    Look:
    Mccain ain’t going to get elected. But I’d vote for him, or even YOU, for that matter, before I’d vote for Billary.

    If you’ve been paying attention, The Billary’s have been up to the slash and burn tactics that they won with before with absolutely horrific results. Obama is beating the living shit out of them to the tune of 15-20 -something points per primary……

    I find it REALLY odd. Here is a guy who EVERYONE has gone negative over who hasn’t risen to the bait, or engaged in ANY of the shitslinging, and is mopping the floor with her, and showing points over Mccain nationally…..

    I honestly don’t know if he can be worth a shit as a President or not. I know that there isn’t anyone else substantially or even remotely MORE qualified left running….

    And besides, the lobbyists that own Congress are going to completely ruin any plan any new president walks into town with, anyway.

    If a candidate shows up that can fix the health care mess, FINISH the war, bring the jobs and the money back home, and do something about the borders, bring ’em on, I’ll vote for ’em, I’m independent.

    Failing that, give me someone with a fucking BRAIN for a change. I want the leader of the free world to at least be smarter than my brother in law.

  3. I was always taught, and I have always found it true, that cursing, the resort to foul language, and name-calling denote an absolute lack of ideas.

    There really are more grownup ways to express one’s ardor for one’s opinions.

    I absolutely respect your entitlement to your opinions and your entitlement to express them. But there are social mores which go to your manner of expression.

    Please. Are courtesy and class also fled to brutish beasts?

  4. Though well-phrased, this piece rings eerily close to what Limbaugh was saying a few days ago.

    Personally, I think it’s worth noting that America has twice bought into the spiel of “the man from Hope”, and the best we got out of it was that he bombed a Sudanese aspirin factory. We’ve done the whole “Hope” thing; now it’s time to get real.

  5. I have to confess, I rarely listen to Rush Limbaugh, so I was unaware that he had recently addressed the same topic. But I think, now that Mrs. Clinton is effectively no longer in the race, everybody will be turning their attantion to the Boy Wonder.

    Perhaps his hype about Hope is too easy a target, but he hasn’t offered us a whole lot else yet. His “policies” are vague, at best, though he seems to be well to the left of the Clintons (which doesn’t bode well for our country if conservatives keep refusing to rally around McCain).

    I’ll be paying more attention to the Hopester now, since it’s clear he’s going to get the nomination. Personally, I wish it were going to be Mrs. Clinton. IMHO, she’d be easier to beat.

  6. **I was always taught, and I have always found it true, that cursing, the resort to foul language, and name-calling denote an absolute lack of ideas.**

    I learned to swear in a combat zone. Tough Shit.

    **There really are more grownup ways to express one’s ardor for one’s opinions.**

    Extraordinary times require extraordinary measures, in my case, creative swearing. We got where we are playing nice with the reetards.

    **I absolutely respect your entitlement to your opinions and your entitlement to express them. But there are social mores which go to your manner of expression.**

    You mean that I am “entitled” to my opinion. My “entitlements” aren’t due for a couple years. If you’re going to put on airs of education and refinement, get a proofreader to keep you from embarrassing yourself. My veracity, and voracity in all almost all things is fact based, even though I act like and speak like a fucking pig.

    Please. Are courtesy and class also fled to brutish beasts?

    Plagiarism is also a bad idea if you’re trying to sound cultured and erudite….

    That quote? Are you sure it’s based on Mark Anthony’s speech in Julis Ceasar, (Act IV scene II?) or is it based on this:

    Ay, they are beasts that seek to usurp our land, And like to brutish beasts they shall be served.”

    Which is, I believe from:
    THE SUPPLENTARY (supplimentary) WORKS

    which might be forgeries but actually rings truer in my case.
    ….but I digress….

    After the last seven years of ‘brutish beasts’ I think I’m “entitled” to be mad enough to swear, spit, holler or have a seizure…

    And ain’t it just like a republican’t to argue style over substance?

  7. “I learned to swear in a combat zone. Tough Shit.”

    You aren’t in a combat zone now, scumby. You’re in Daddyland. You don’t have to prove anything here.

    “Extraordinary times require extraordinary measures, in my case, creative swearing.”

    Creative? I’ve heard six-year-olds swear more creatively — and without even using four-letter words! Come now, scumby, I’m sure you could express yourself far more creatively if you resisted those tired old curse words and freed yourself to come up with more original imprecations.

    “And ain’t it just like a republican’t to argue style over substance?”

    Substance may be the meat and potatoes, but style is the spice of conversation. It captivates the imagination and stimulates the neural synapses. You should try it sometime. : )

  8. OOPS!!

    That was Act III Scene II…..of JULIUS Caesar….sheesh.

    **You aren’t in a combat zone now, scumby. You’re in Daddyland. You don’t have to prove anything here.**

    I would say that we ARE at war, for the very future of our country, of this world we live in…..

    But Nacho, if the swearing bothers you, I’ll trim it. But the “Reetard in chief” insults stay.

    I DO find it odd that the single biggest criticism I have received has concerned my profanity, and not my somewhat radical views concerning energy and social programs. Or my shaky recollection of Shakespeare……;~)

  9. You changed your post, Originally you said:

    You aren’t in a combat zone now, scumby. You’re in Daddyland. You don’t have to prove anything here.

    Which is why I responded in kind. Then you changed your post to:

    You aren’t in a combat zone now, scumby. You don’t have to prove your manliness to anybody here.

    Which really cheapens the sentiment. I liked the first one better.

    And by the way – I’ve never used the ‘bad words’ to or about anyone here, just the policymakers and boneheads that have driven my beloved country into the ground.

    But as I said, I’ll put a lid on the swearing, since we can’t be having my manhood drug into it….

  10. We are at war, scumby, but you’re not in the combat zone. You’re in the comfort of your own living room. (Maybe you’d better lay off the pipe for a while. You seem a bit disoriented.)

    The swearing doesn’t offend me. Nor does it impress me. Express yourself however it suits you.

    We’ve already discussed your views on energy. Your views on social programs are the same old same old; we could jump on the merry-go-round and ride it round and round, but why bother? As for your shaky Shakespeare recollection, I didn’t bother to check up on the chapter and verse, so your error passed unnoticed. Perhaps you should get a proof reader. It seems you have greater need of one than Jackson does.

  11. You’re too quick for me, scumby. I often reread and do a final edit immediately after I post. But when you posted your response, I reverted it, because it didn’t seem fair to have changed it after you’d already replied. So there it is. I won’t touch it again. Your manhood is safe from me.

  12. I have a proofreader….that would be me – it’s why I caught the error and admitted it… I find it very interesting you have to defend Jackson, a person who agrees with you in almost all cases.

    Also – your insults about the pipe.

    “Maybe you’d better lay off the pipe for a while. You seem a bit disoriented.

    I might be disoriented, but at least I know when to attribute the source of an insult when it’s William Shakespeare.

  13. So there it is. I won’t touch it again. Your manhood is safe from me.

    LOL HAHAHAHAHAHAHA LOL

    Thanks, my wife was worried….:~)

    Look. I do come here to learn as well as express whatever I have cooking concerning your posts. Healthy disagreement is what we are about as a people, I think. Lose that and we become just another failed experiment in social conformity.

    And by the way…I think we’re in real trouble with ALL these presidential candidates. Big trouble.

  14. **And by the way…I think we’re in real trouble with ALL these presidential candidates. Big trouble.**

    Oh yeah…..We right wing conservative Christians have no one

    If I was Michele, I think I’d get some life insurance on Obi….the Clintons are very creative in the political process.

  15. […] don’t think I could even imagine saying it better than here. Can you say Cult of Personality? I […]

  16. The Shakespeare line attributed judgment fled to brutish beasts. I simply asked, and you answered affirmatively, whether courtesy and class had gone there also.

    Consider the opposition silenced.

  17. Hope achieves nothing other than stirring up emotions. Often when hope is not realized persons will then back into blaming others for their problems or worse (I have witnessed this first hand in my life)
    Hope also says that we can hope for a better World and everyone will like us, unfortunately this is total bunk as evil only lies in wait for hope.
    As for his intelligence, I cannot judge him there, but I can say that I have met many a very well educated person in my line of work that cannot hold a candle to many a High School only person in grasping concepts. Although he seems to be an intelligent man, that does not imply true wisdom or understanding.

    Reference the two videos in my post:
    http://american-aquarium.blogspot.com/2008/03/ignorance-of-left.html


Leave a Reply

